Tags

, , , , , , ,

cucumber 3
I have been gone from the blogging world for more than a year, all I can say is that I got married…and we all know the rest. I was in some fairytale world of cooking up spectacular dishes and living a life full of glitter and heels… It was just me a bride in a new house with shiny gold necklaces dangling around my neck as I was whipping a storm of spices and flavors in the kitchen, all the while trying my best to keep perfectly calm and collected. It was a tranquil honeymoon period, me, my food processor, my kitchen aid…oh yes and my husband of course. Then I had a sharp snap back into reality as my studies resumed and I simply got overwhelmed. But no worries, I have not forgotten my culinary obsessions…I have actually gotten a better understanding since I can proudly say I have had my share of experiences. The comments and messages I received throughout the year were so kind and inspiring, so I have finally things have come to a pace where I am able to juggle everything, and find some time to myself to blog and share with everyone.
photo3
I am starting off with a basic easy recipe, something light and fresh in these warm opening days of fall. It’s a Yogurt-Cucumber salad that I believe nearly every middle-eastern country has some form of. This one has a bit of a twist, as does almost anything I like to cook. It has added chopped walnuts and golden raisins to add some crunch and sweetness to the creamy yogurt base. The dried dill adds such a depth and richness to the flavor of this salad, so add as much as you like. This dish stands great alone with some fresh Afghan bread, or goes well with Kabobs at a barbeque. It’s a beauty to look at, and the simplicity of the ingredients is overtaken by the wonderful combination of flavors.

cucumber salad 2

Ingredients:
3 Cups Chakkah (or Chobani Greek Yogurt, I usually do non-fat and it has no effect on flavor)
3 Medium Cucumbers (seeded and diced)
1 cup Chopped Walnuts (should be chunky)
1 cup Golden Raisins
2 Tablespoons dried Dill
1 Tablespoons dried Mint
1 Tablespoon Salt
1 clove of Garlic crushed
Dried Cranberries or Pomegranate (for a nice tart garnish)

1. Soak Raisins in warm water for about 5 minutes until plump.
2. Put yogurt in a mixing bowl, add dill, mint, salt and garlic. Mix in diced cucumbers, walnuts, raisins.
3. Top with dried cranberries or pomegranate.

cucumber salad 1

