Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Chevre Stuffed Peppers

Afghan Sheer Berenj (Rice Pudding) and Palestinian Haloumi/Watermelon/Mint Salad

Eid Mubarak! It seems every Eid I have the intention of posting recipes for Eid sweets and dishes, yet the holiday overwhelms me and I do not find time to post. Eid Al-Adha celebrations continue well past the day of Eid, as pilgrims returning from Hajj (pilgrimage to Mecca and Medina) return home.

afghan eid 11

afghan eid 14

Chevre Stuffed Peppers

I love the celebration of Eid-Al-Adha which commemorates Prophet Ibrahim’s willingness to sacrifice his only son (Ismail) based on God’s commandment. Right as Prophet Ibrahim was about to make this heart-wrenching sacrifice, God intervened and commanded him to sacrifice a lamb instead. It is a beautiful story that reminds us to just simply believe and trust in God. I myself struggle to do this on an every-day basis, it is easy to get frustrated and try to desperately resist reality….but Prophet Ibrahim’s story is a powerful reminder that to trust in God is key. Though things don’t make sense at the time, there is always a reason for everything and having that sense of belief is the only peace you will have in your life. This Eid comes at a time of, I would say, incredible challenges in my family, so remembering the story of Prophet Ibrahim, that intense belief he had in God and God’s mercyΒ is calming.

I decided this year to do an Eid brunch at my parents’ house. Traditionally Afghan Eid brunch is a combination of sweet and salty spread, which is what I replicated but did a combination of all types of dishes, middle-eastern and western. It was actually just relaxing cooking all night, and of course impressing my mom that I could do it on my own πŸ™‚

Afghan Gosh-E-Feel: Thin fried dough topped with powdered sugar and pistachio

Afghan Gosh-E-Feel: Thin fried dough topped with powdered sugar and pistachio

Algerian Makrout El Louz: Almond Cookies

Algerian Makrout El Louz: Almond Cookies

Wishing everyone a blessed Eid, and congratulations to all the returning Hajjis (pilgrims).

Afghan Chapli Kabob and Uzbek Samosas

Afghan Chapli Kabob and Uzbek Samosas

My true passion: Baking! Raspberry-Lemon Cupcakes and Strawberry Chocolate Cups

My true passion: Baking! Raspberry-Lemon Cupcakes and Strawberry Chocolate Cups

